The ARFID Doesn’t Fall Far From the Tree

I’ve been trawling through some ARFID support groups on various sites recently. I’ve seen a lot of support and questions coming from the parents of ARFID sufferers which really warms my heart to see! Support is key in making whoever it is that you know that suffers, feel at ease.

What I’ve noticed however, is that these parents are not sufferers themselves, and often go on to post about either the traumatic event or unknown source of their child’s condition. They do not suffer themselves.

This intrigues me as I’m a completely different story. Both my Dad, and his Dad, appear to have at least a mild case of ARFID.

Growing up, I’d watch my dad avoid most vegetables; he would never eat anything with sauces, that meant no curries, no pasta dishes, nothing of the sort. He’s now in his fifties and has begun to branch out and eats pretty well thanks to my persuasive and encouraging mother. But he still has a rather large aversion to fish and meat. He will eat fishcakes and cod roe (fish eggs), but definitely no fillets of fish of any kind.

This could be considered fussy eating, but his aversion to meat is strange and definitely ARFID related in my mind. My Dad will eat bacon and steak, but only if it’s burned to a crisp or served very well-done. He will eat roast chicken and beef, but only if its sliced wafer thin, and only if it has been cooked and prepared by either his own Mum or my Mum. That means no Carvery or Sunday lunch outings in my family! He won’t touch pork or lamb or a chicken breast in any way shape or form because of the thickness, yet he’ll eat a steak…

As you can see, all arrows point in an ARFID shaped direction.

My Gramp suffers similarly; he won’t touch meat unless its cut into the tiniest slices imaginable and also enjoys eating it in an almost-burned state.

This throws up so many questions surrounding my own case.

Am I this way because I was raised in an environment where it was okay to eat a restrictive diet? Possibly, but that doesn’t explain why my brother will eat anything and everything, as will my Mum.

Does that mean this is genetic? But how can that be if I’m seeing all these other parents on social sites who are non-sufferers with children who are ARFID diagnosed.

These are questions I will strive to obtain answers to when attending therapy sessions. Surely this unfortunate family resemblance can’t be a coincidence?

If you or anyone else you know are in a similar position to me, please let me know!

Thanks again for reading, more posts to follow soon!

~Callum

30/06/2017

 

2 thoughts on “The ARFID Doesn’t Fall Far From the Tree

Add yours

  1. I’ve always wondered as well if it’s genetic or not. Eating disorders and picky eating tend to run through my mom’s side of the family but as far as I know nobody is like me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

